top of page
  • Writer's pictureBJW

It's a (Free) Pipette Pen!

Updated: Oct 6, 2020


If you decide to pursue life as a biologist, or at least intern for a summer at some lab, you’ll meet a little handy feller. He’ll be with you at the lab bench and the biological safety hood. You’ll ask him for help when you need to deposit mere microliters of solution into an aliquot (a test tube with a screw cap). Or you might turn to his bigger siblings for help when larger volumes are called for.


Your friends (but hopefully not all) are pipettes. From what I’ve seen at lab work, they’re an integral part of it, sucking up and dispensing precise amounts of liquid (you do this a lot in a bio lab...)


Because of a pipette’s significance in a lab rat’s life, I was quite gruntled when I found this little knickknack online. It’s a pipette pen. That is, a pen that looks like a pipette. Perfect thing to show off to your (equally biology-enthused) friends.


Best of all, I got it for free. All I did was contact a representative from Eppendorf, a laboratory supply company. Here’s the link to the contact form. Simply say you’re interested in acquiring a few instances of their pipette pens, and they’ll be happy to send you some. If you specify your address, that’ll save some time, as otherwise, the representative’ll have to ask for it.


And just a heads up, my pens took about a month to arrive after I gave my address. I can’t complain though, pens and shipping being free and all.

17,075 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page